Several times we have sent the wrong message to someone. Sometimes it is funny but embarrassing and, delicate most others. But now we don’t have to worry about these all. Thankfully, WhatsApp’s ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature, lets users delete a message both for yourself and the person you have sent it to. You can delete a message immediately you also have a one-hour time limit to delete messages. Messages sent more than an hour back cannot be deleted for everyone, you can just delete it for yourself to strike it off just your record.
This appreciated feature comes with its set of loopholes. There are five important things WhatsApp wants you to know before you use this ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature and they are all listed on WhatsApp FAQ page as a special note.
Recipients might still see your message before it is deleted
Even if you immediately delete a message you have sent, there is a possibility that the person receiving it might have seen it before you could do anything. This may happen in case the person you have sent the message to already has the chat open or checks the content via the smartphone notification or desktop notification. In the second case, the person will realise the message has been deleted only after he/she opens the chat.
The latest version of WhatsApp
To successfully delete a message for both parties, you and the person you have sent the message to must use the latest version of WhatsApp. If either of you is on an older version, the ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature will not work. This applies to both Android and iOS users.
WhatsApp for iOS does not delete media on this feature
WhatsApp will not notify you if your ‘Delete for Everyone’ has been successful or not
If you were trying to delete a message for everyone and some reason it does not happen, WhatsApp, unfortunately, does not notify you. The messaging app does not send any intimation about failures of messages being deleted for all parties. For example, even if you have deleted a message, there is no knowing if the recipient has already seen it or not.
You have just about an hour to delete a message for everyone
Earlier, WhatsApp used to give you only seven minutes to delete a message. But now WhatsApp gives you an hour to delete a message you have sent for everyone. Thankfully, the time limit has been increased to an hour.